Student Information

GET YOUR FLORIDA LEARNERS PERMIT!

To keep young drivers like you safe, the Florida DHSMV has instated Graduated Licensing Laws to ensure that you are prepared by the time you are able to hit the road to practice your driving skills.

The Road to Your Florida Learners Permit

Step 1: Sign up for a Florida Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) course.

Our Florida teen driving course is a DHSMV approved 4-hour TLSAE course and fulfills all state requirements. Registration takes only a few minutes and requires a minimal amount of basic information. You can begin studying immediately after registration.

Step 2: Complete the course online at your own pace.

  • You’ll read driver safety lessons that will teach you the skills you’ll need once you are in the drivers seat.
  • You’ll find fun images, animations and videos within the course to help increase your understanding and add interaction.
  • There will be a quiz after each section and you will have an unlimited number of chances to pass.
  • Once you graduate from the course, we will send you a certificate of completion for your records.

Step 3: Pass your Florida learners permit test online.

After you complete your TLSAE course, you will be ready to take your learners permit exam. The exam asks 50 multiple choice questions about Florida road rules and traffic signs and you must score at least 80% to pass. We notify the state of your completion in real-time, so once you pass you will be ready to apply for your permit!

Step 4: Apply for your Florida learners permit.

By the time you have finished your course and passed your permit test online, you will be ready to take a seat behind the wheel and practice your driving skills. Before you head down to the DHSMV make sure you are ready to provide everything you’ll be asked for:

  • Proof of completion of our Florida teen driving program.
  • A completed Parental Consent Form
    • This form must be signed in the presence of a DHSMV examiner
    • If a parent will not be present, the signed form must be notarized
  • Documents that prove your:
    • Identity
    • Social Security Number
    • Residential Address

If you opt to take your permit exam at the DHSMV instead of online, you will need to take and pass it at the DHSMV to receive your permit. It is the same test as the one you will take online. You will also need to pass a vision test and a hearing test at the DMV. Once you fulfill all of these requirements, you will be the proud owner of your very own Florida learners permit!

Is it Time for a Permit?

Getting your learners permit is an exciting time. You’ll finally be able to get behind the wheel of a car (with the appropriate supervision, of course) and begin practicing to be a safe, confident driver. Whether you are ready to take your drug and alcohol course or simply need to pass the permit exam, good luck and as always, drive safe!

Frequently Asked Questions

  • Do I need this course to get my Florida learners permit?

    If you are a first time driver between 15 and 18 years old, the Florida DHSMV requires that you complete a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) course in addition to pass a permit exam in order to receive a learner’s permit. We offer exactly what you need to fulfill this requirement.

  • Is this a Florida DHSMV approved program?

    Yes. Our online program is approved by the DHSM and fulfills the 4-hour TLSAE requirement and permit exam requirement.

  • How does Drug and Alcohol (TLSAE) course work? Is it like a classroom course?

    Online drivers ed works similarly to a classroom course, except that you are in charge. There is no instructor lecturing or setting the pace—you get to set your own schedule and study how you want to. You’ll read through the curriculum that has been enhanced with images and videos before proving your understanding with journal questions and quizzes. You’ll have unlimited chances to pass each section, so we can guarantee that you will pass!

  • How long does the TLSAE course take to complete?

    The DHSMV requires a 4-hour TLSAE course. The time requirement can be fulfilled as quickly or leisurely as you prefer by logging on and off as you please.

  • Read More...

TLSAE Course

Permit Exam

TLSAE COURSE – $29.95


PERMIT EXAM – $25.95