Florida Learner's Permit

Get on the road with your first learner's permit!

A Few Easy Steps!

JUST A FEW EASY STEPS!

How To Get Your Florida Learner’s Permit

Many teens are eager to drive as soon as possible, but the State of Florida requires all new drivers to complete a few fairly easy steps before they can get on the road for the first time. Learn more about the steps required to get your first learner’s permit, then visit our Driver’s License page for more information on the next step in the licensing process.

Complete an approved Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) course.

Our quick and easy 4-hour Drug & Alcohol course satisfies course requirements for new drivers of all ages.

Take your permit exam online.

Teens ages 14.5 up to 18 can take their written permit exam entirely online! This saves a lot of time and stress, since you will not need to take a permit test when you visit the DMV.

Make an appointment at the DMV.

When you’re ready to apply, make sure to make an appointment with your local DHSMV office. When you go, make sure to bring all of the appropriate paperwork and documentation required for your application. For a full list of acceptable documents and a helpful guide, visit flhsmv.gov/WhatToBring.

  • Proof of identity. Acceptable documents include:
    • Certified United States birth certificate
    • Valid United States passport
    • Consular report of birth abroad
    • Certificate of naturalization (Form N-550 or Form N-570)
    • Certificate of citizenship (Form N560 or Form M-561)
  • Proof of Social Security Number. Acceptable documents include.
    • Social Security card
    • W-2 form (can’t be handwritten)
    • Pay check/stub
    • SSA-1099
    • Any 1099 (can’t be handwritten)
  • Proof of residential address.
    • A statement from a parent, step-parent, legal guardian or other person that the teen lives with regarding their residence and two proofs of residential address. Acceptable documents include:
      • Deed, mortgage, monthly mortgage statement, mortgage payment booklet or residential rental/lease agreement
      • Florida Voter Registration Card
      • Florida Vehicle Registration or Title
      • Florida Boat Registration or Title
      • Utility hook up or work order dated within 60 days of the application.
      • An Automobile Payment Booklet
      • Selective Service Card
      • Medical or health card with an address listed
      • Current homeowner’s insurance policy or bill
      • Current automobile insurance policy or bill
      • An educational institution transcript form from the current school year
      • Professional license that is issued by a government agency in the U.S. (can’t be expired)
      • W-2 or 1099 forms
      • Form DS2019 Certificate of Eligibility for Exchange Visitor (J-1) status
      • Utility bills that are not more than two months old
      • Mail from Federal, State, County or City government agencies
    • Completed parental consent form.

Pass Vision and Hearing Tests

These are standard tests required at the DHSMV. If you use glasses or a hearing aid, you will be able to use them during your tests, but your license may require a designation stating that you need vision or hearing assistance.

If you did not take your permit exam online, you will also need to take a written permit exam. Save time by taking it online!

Get Your Permit!

Now that you’ve got your permit, get practicing! After you’ve held your permit for one year (or turn 18, whichever comes first), you will be eligible to apply for your first Florida driver’s license. Learn more about the driver license process here.

Frequently Asked Questions

  • Do I need this course to get my Florida learners permit?

    If you are a first time driver between 15 and 18 years old, the Florida DHSMV requires that you complete a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) course in addition to pass a permit exam in order to receive a learner’s permit. We offer exactly what you need to fulfill this requirement.

  • Is this a Florida DHSMV approved program?

    Yes. Our online program is approved by the DHSM and fulfills the 4-hour TLSAE requirement and permit exam requirement.

  • How does Drug and Alcohol (TLSAE) course work? Is it like a classroom course?

    Online drivers ed works similarly to a classroom course, except that you are in charge. There is no instructor lecturing or setting the pace—you get to set your own schedule and study how you want to. You’ll read through the curriculum that has been enhanced with images and videos before proving your understanding with journal questions and quizzes. You’ll have unlimited chances to pass each section, so we can guarantee that you will pass!

  • How long does the TLSAE course take to complete?

    The DHSMV requires a 4-hour TLSAE course. The time requirement can be fulfilled as quickly or leisurely as you prefer by logging on and off as you please.

  • Read More...

TLSAE Course

Permit Exam

TLSAE COURSE – $29.95


PERMIT EXAM – $25.95