GET YOUR CALIFORNIA DRIVERS PERMIT!
If you are a California teen there is a good chance you are ready to get behind the wheel of your very own car. Before you can do so, however, you must be sure to fulfill all of the California driver education and learners permit requirements.
California Drivers Permit and License Requirements
Before you can start driving on your own, you are going to need a driver's license. The state of California requires that young drivers complete a series of steps before you are granted full driving privileges. If you are between the ages of 15 ½ and 17 ½, you are ready to begin taking steps towards your drivers license.
Step 1: Take our teen driving course online.
The first thing you are going to have to do is learn the rules of the road and how to operate a vehicle responsibly. Our online driver education course will teach you everything you'll need to know to be a safe, responsible driver.
Step 2: Enroll in a behind-the-wheel training course.
Before your learners permit can become a license, you'll need to spend six hours training behind the wheel with a professional driving school. Select your school from the DMV's list of Approved Providers.
Step 3: Get your California drivers permit.
Once you complete your driver education it'll be time to head down to the DMV to get your California drivers permit. In order to do so, you will be required by the DMV to:
- Make an Appointment before going to the DMV
- Fill out the application form (DL 44)
- Must be signed by a parent or guardian
- Capture a thumbprint
- Take a photo
- Pass a Vision Exam
- Provide the following information:
- Social Security Number
- True Full Name
- Show Documents proving your:
- Date of birth
- Legal presence
- Pay the Application Fee
- Submit proof of Driver Education completion
- Pass your California drivers permit exam
When you receive your permit, you will be able to start driving practice with a licensed adult or professional driving instructor.
Step 4: Pass your driving test and get your license!
Once you fulfill your permit requirements, you will be ready to take your driving test and get your California driver's license. Before you can do so, you'll need to hold your permit for at least 6 months while you:
- Spend 6 hours training with a professional driving instructor
- Complete 50 hours of driving practice with a licensed adult over 25
- Ensure at least 10 of the 50 practice hours are at night
When these requirements have been met, it'll be time to make an Appointment at the DMV for your behind-the-wheel driving test. If you are a little nervous, the California DMV offers some helpful Tips to calm your nerves. If you put all of the skills and knowledge you'll learn from our teen driving course and your subsequent practice to use, we are confident that you will be in the driver's seat in no time!
Start Studying for your California Drivers Permit Today!
Are you ready to get started? Talk to your parent about signing up for our teen driving course, or have them Contact Us to speak with one of our knowledgeable driver education experts today!