On The Go

Texas Drivers License – How to Get One

If you need to know how to get your first Texas driver’s license, look no further than here! Following are the steps you need to take to get licensed in Texas:

  1. Complete a Parent Taught Driver’s Education course approved by the Texas Department of Licensing and Registration (TDLR). If you are at least 14 years old, you can enroll in our program. All you need to do is complete all the chapters and pass the final exam.
  2. Participate in behind-the-wheel driver training program with the approved instructor from the DPS. In conjunction with the online portion, you will need to practice behind-the-wheel training in order to get a learner’s license.
  3. Apply for your learner’s license.
  4. Hold the learner’s license and practice driving with supervision for 6 months. You must complete at least 34 hours of supervised driving, with 10 hours at night. The supervising driver must be the parent or legal guardian that is listed on the Parent Taught Driver Education Packet.
  5. Apply for your Texas driver’s license. If you have taken a TDLR approved driver’s education course, you are eligible to apply for a provisional driver’s license when you are 16 years old.

To obtain your driver’s license, you must then pass the vision test, the written test and the road test

Frequently Asked Questions

  • Why is driver education required?

    The Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) stipulates that teens must take a Driver Education Course as one of the requirements in obtaining a learner’s license. The course focuses on many of the basic Texas traffic laws and the requirements of safe driving. It is important for teens to take this course because studies have shown that teens face the greatest risk of crashing during their first year of driving and are less likely than adults to understand the risks of driving.

  • How do I register for the Teen Texas Driving Course?

    It couldn’t be easier! You can click here to register online. All you have to do is fill-in the required fields and you can start the course immediately! If you’d rather register by phone, give us a call toll-free 24/7 at (877) 590-9136 and our friendly representatives will help you register over the phone.

  • How long does the online course take to complete?

    Our course is designed to be self-paced. However, the DPS does restrict the time you are allowed to spend on a parent taught driver education course to two hours a day. This will help you to retain the maximum amount of information without getting overwhelmed. Our course has 13 chapters with text, videos, and interactive flash animations, for a total of 32 hours of state-required instruction. You can start and stop at any time, and your progress will be saved. That’s the beauty of our online course!

  • When do I get my Completion Certificate?

    Upon successful completion of your final exam and payment for the course, you will receive your Completion Certificate by 1st Class USPS Mail totally FREE of charge. Once you receive your Completion Certificate, you can take it to the DPS as proof that you have completed your required Driver Education Course. It’s that quick and easy!

  • Read More...

GET YOUR PERMIT TODAY!