TEXAS TEEN DRIVING FAQS
Do I need to take a Parent-Taught Driver Education Course?
Texas teenagers between 15-18 years old must satisfy the 32-hour driver education course requirement in order to obtain a Texas Learner’s Permit. This can be done through several methods, including the parent-taught method. The parent-taught program also includes the 44-hours of required behind-the-wheel training. However, you must have a Parent-Taught Driver Education Packet to complete this program.
What is the Parent-Taught Driver Education (PTDE) Packet?
The PTDE packet is issued by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation and will guide parents through the parent-taught program to ensure each aspiring driver receives the best education. You can order the packet here.
Do I need a Parent-Taught Driver Education (PTDE) Packet to take this course?
Yes, you cannot obtain and Texas Learner’s License without a completed DL-90A and DL-91A forms, which are included in the PTDE packet.
How long is the course?
Our parent-taught course is a minimum of 32-hours, as the state requires. Students may only complete two hours within a day, per state regulation.
When do I get my completion certificate?
After you have completed and paid for the course, your first certificate will be available for download after completing the first 6-hours of coursework. After you have finished the entire course, you can download your Certificate of Completion.
What happens if I fail the final exam?
Students may retake the final exam as many times as they need to pass at no extra charge, so don’t worry.
What other things do I need to do besides this course to get my learner’s permit?
In order to obtain a Texas learner’s permit in Texas, you need to:
- Complete a 32-hour driver education course
- Complete 44-hours of behind-the-wheel-training
- Be 16-years old*
This course will walk you through both of these processes.
*Though you can begin the course when you’re 14-years-old, you cannot apply for a permit until you’ve turned 15.
What do I need to bring with me to the DPS to get my learner’s permit?
You will need the following materials:
- Parent or guardian (if you’re under 18)
- Proof of your identity
- Two documents proving residency in Texas
- Proof of Social Security number
- A Verification of Enrollment and Attendance (VOE) or high school diploma or GED
- Completed Application for Driver License of Identification Card Form (DL-14A)
- Proof you took a driver education course and passed*
For Parent-Taught Driver Education this is called a Texas Driver Education Certificate Form (DE-964) as well as a Classroom Instructor Driver Education Affidavit (DL-90A).
Why is driver education required?
The Texas Department of Licensing and Registration (TDLR) stipulates that teens must take a Driver Education Course as one of the requirements in obtaining a learner’s license. The course focuses on many of the basic Texas traffic laws and the requirements of safe driving. It is important for teens to take this course because studies have shown that teens face the greatest risk of crashing during their first year of driving and are less likely than adults to understand the risks of driving.
How do I register for the Teen Texas Driving Course?
It couldn’t be easier! You can click here to register online. All you have to do is fill-in the required fields and you can start the course immediately! If you’d rather register by phone, give us a call toll-free at (877) 590-9136 and our friendly representatives will help you register over the phone.
How can I pay for the online course?
You can pay for our online course by credit card or check. To pay by credit simply fill out the online registration form and you will be linked to a secure payment page to complete your transaction. The site is encrypted to make sure your online payment is fully secure.
If you prefer to pay by check, please mail the payment to our office at your earliest convenience. Click here to see information on our mailing address and phone number.
Strapped for cash? Don’t worry! You can start the course now and pay us later. However, in order to download your certificates, you will have to make a payment through one of the options described above. Questions? Give us a call toll-free at (877) 590-9136.
Are there any special computer or operating system requirements to take the online course?
Nope. Basically, if you can read this, you should have no problem taking our course. Our online course is compatible with all computer configurations, including PCs and Macs. It even works on most smart phones and web-enabled electronic devices.
I have enrolled in the course. Now how do I get into the program?
If you have already enrolled, please use your username and password to re-enter and complete the online course. If you have forgotten or lost your username and password, please call us toll-free at (877) 590-9136.